quick double-weave throw

18 10 2008

I never do double weave.  Although i frequently teach it, I decided to break with my own traditions and do a double weave piece in dime store yarns that can be thrown into the washing machine.  Another break is that I decided to weave something for me.  From start to finish, it was intended to be for me.  I made a throw, and chose exactly the colors I wanted.  I worked on it in spare moments before and after classes, and it only took about 4 hours.  Those four hours were over a two week period, and the day I finished it, I was sick with a nasty cold, and it was dreary, rainy.  It came off the lom, and I washed and wet-finished it, then went home and curled up under it and slept.  What a wonderful thing it is.  If you would like to see it, here it is:

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 10 2008
shuttlepilot

How bright and cheerful, and very serendipitous that it finished just in time to curl up under!

How you found time to do that while teaching, and being Artist in Residence is amazing. Also amazing how much energy a gal can expend working with middle schoolers! 🙂 It’s so great that you are doing that, though. Igniting those creative fires in our youth is a special talent. Thanks for offering your heart and time.

Weave on!
Jane

23 10 2008
ladyoftheloom

That is glorious Cherri! Hope you are feeling better by now.

24 10 2008
rivercityweaves

All Better! Thanks.

26 10 2008
Linda S.

I absolutely love this blanket. Is there somewhere online that has tutorials for double weave… I am self taught rh loom weaver and would love to learn this technique.
Thanks,
Linda
http://fabricfolliestwo.wordpress.com/

26 10 2008
rivercityweaves

Thank you. As I mentioned, it’s all Wool Ease yarn. Easy Care.
I don’t know about the tutorial, but it’s very simple.
E-mail me offline, and I’ll give you an outline, then walk you through it as you do it.

Leave a Reply

