St. Jude’s Quilt contest & other good things

12 04 2009

This is a little off-topic for those of you who weave exclusively, but many of us engage in other fiber arts also. If you sew, and would like to benefit St. Jude’s hospital, and the young patients there, please check out the quilt contest.  Consider donating a 45″X60″ quilt to benefit St. Jude’s.  Here is a link to the rules:  St. Jude’s Quilt contest

Also, I have students who administrate great not-for-profits. Today, I want to promote them because too often, we only think of these organizations around the Christmas, or winter holidays. Well that means they have an abundance of help then, but this time of year, they need your help also.

Two of these organizations that I want you to be aware of are: The Giving Heartand

From the Heart Stitchers

The organizations provide a great blessing to our community, and a great example loving others.  From the Heart Stitchers is specifically a fiber artists opportunity.  The Giving Heart is more of an open opportunity, but the administrator is learning to weave in the studio, and I would like to find a way to assist.  Maybe you could donate a knitted hat and it could be put in the care bags?

OH, here is something else very cool. I was at St. Mary’s hospital visiting my precious family member, when I stopped at one of the info desks to find out where to go.  The lady at the desk was futzing around with yarn.  Of course I asked what she was working on and she said she was knitting hats for the babies born at St. Marys.  Every baby born at St. Mary’s get a hand knitted beanie to keep him/her warm and to go home with them.  2 of my kids were born there, and I had no  idea those beanies were and knit!  I need to find those beanies.  What loving hands.

One of my students/friends mentioned to me yesterday what a great community of people my studio is composed of (that’s not exactly how she said it, but what she said was even kinder).  It is my thought/hope that it is a teaching example for me.  That these wonderful, women of grace and love are in my studio, and that I will learn from each and every one of them how to be more Loving and compassionate.  There are so many things about the people in my studio that I admire, and would like to emmulate. Let me be a blessing today.

Hope you get time to weave today.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

