LYS & Lettuce Knit

31 08 2009

Today, taking a break from the fury of trying to be ready for the show, I went to Lettuce Knit in Richmond.  It’s the FLYS of my students and I just hadn’t been.  The yarns that walk out of there, however, were fantastic.  As luck would have it, I arrived as the enthusiastic yarnies were morphing from summer feature to fall feature, as well as unpacking stock. It made for a very energetic shop, lots of yarn flying, but then what’s the difference in that and a working weaving studio. I probably got to see much more yarn because it was setting around in various stages of packed, unpacked, displayed and un-displayed, etc.

I won’t hesitate to tell you I spent a couple hundred dollars in yarn in about 20 min. because you do it to, and you know you do.  The thing is, I got my money’s worth by far.  More than the yarn, the shop, it’s business, the yarnie’ love and enthusiasm for what they were doing, the colors, textures and tools all inspired me to come back to the studio and produce.

Yesterday was dry creatively, and today promised to be the same, so it worked out well for me that I spent a few minutes in this little yarn warren.  Although the name above is a link to their website, don’t go rushing to the website for inspiration.  Those yarnies would rather knit than build a website.  It’s a spartan site.  No beautiful yarns, no bloggy side-bar with clever quips and tips. It’s an opportunity to tell you the phone #, address, store hours, and some of the brand names they carry.  I’m glad I went. I’ll go back, but first, I’ve gotta get ready for this show.

So thanks Trish, Lynne, Joan, Pam and Vicki. I had a good visit.

Enjoy my money, cause I got the better end of that deal;0)

Cherri

http://alphainventions.com/

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

