Bay School of the Arts and Mathews, Va

22 01 2010

Today, I spent the day with a friend, traveling to Mathews, va to judge the wearable art/fiber art show at Bay School of the Arts.  It was a very good little show.  There were 5-6 hooked rugs, 6-8 pieces of weaving, several quilts, some jewelery, some very nice sewing,  embroidery/stumpwork worth seeing, 10 pieces of so of weaving, dyed silk scarves, felted items, etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed seeing the quality of work that is showing up at this little gallery in rural Virginia.  If you get the chance, go by and see the show. When you do, you really should cross the street and visit Chef Todd at his restaurant.  He has a delightful restaurant, which I will drive my husband to just for a lunch or dinner.  It’s worth the 2 hour drive.  Chef Todd has a great restaurant where diners are received with small town warmth and hospitality. There is nothing small town about Chef Todd’s daily offerings.  The specials are definitely able to satisfy the gourmet palate, but if it’s not gourmet you are looking for, he also has a simple, barbcue sandwich that just melts my heart. No gooey bar-b-cue sauces on this excellent meat, it’s delicately smoked flavor is it’s big boast. Next to the flavor, is the moist, succulence of the meat.  I always love Chef Todd’s bar-b-cue and his cucumber salad when I go to Mathews. To be honest, the cucumber salad haunts me when I can’t get to Mathews often enough.

Back to Bay School of the Arts.  The exhibit opens tomorrow evening, and I really recommend a visit.  If you go tomorrow night, you’ll have the opportunity to meet the various artists, as well as some of the staff, see the exhibit and the center.  It’s a favorite place amongst those I teach, because of the precious people there.  Tell them I sent you.

Take care.

Cherri

Actions

Information

One response

23 01 2010
kerowynsmom

Chef Todd’s is awesome. I think (but I’m not sure) that he used to have a restaurant called “Shuckers” that the hubby and I went to all the time when we first moved out here. Definately worth the drive. And I’m going to try to get myself in gear and go spin at the Bay School with my kid Monday, for the artist session. That way, I can see the exhibit, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

