Beautiful handwoven by a middle-schooler

29 04 2010

As I walked into the art center on Tues, I was struck by a magnificent piece of weaving in the window. Hmmm? I wonder who wove that. When I got into the classroom to teach my middle school after class, I saw that it was the piece that one of my middle schoolers had woven. She had pulled it off the cloth beam, and left it draped over the loom, awaiting instructions to remove it from the loom. These kids are making purses, bags, and drawstring backpacks. Hers will be a drawstring backpack.

Here is what I saw:

And here is a better picture of the piece.

As these pieces are completed, I’ll try to remember to post them. The kids are doing a great job.

Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2010
betweenthethreads

I’m crazy about those colors! I love how young weavers aren’t afraid to try color and texture combinations.

Leave a Reply

